Wallhäußer Award

Concept Heidelberg has been conferring the Wallhäußer Prize, endowed with € 5,000, every year since 1987. For the first time with GMP PharmaCongress & GMP PharmaTechnica in 2024, the prize will have a new thematic focus: innovations for pharmaceutical manufacturing.

In addition to the demand for efficiency and the implementation of GMP regulations, pharmaceutical production of the future also faces a number of new challenges. Topics such as sustainability, cost efficiency and the use of artificial intelligence will have a significant impact on pharmaceutical production and pharmaceutical technology.

With the Prof. Wallhäußer Innovation Award, we want to honor projects or technical solutions that stand out through innovation and offer practical solutions for the future. The award winners can be either individuals a group of people. A pharmaceutical company can also be honored for the implementation of an innovative solution or a supplier (service provider, plant construction, engineering, etc.).

Prof Dr Karl Heinz Wallhäußer († 1996) has had a decisive influence on the development of pharmaceutical quality assurance. In addition to many other publications, his book "Practice of Sterilization, Disinfection, Preservation) has earned him a high reputation.

The GMP PharmaTechnica Expo takes place once a year in spring, parallel to the GMP PharmaCongress. All exhibitors are invited to apply for the award. Proposals must be submitted by 15 December of each year.

All contributions given by speakers at the GMP PharmaCongress can also be considered for selection. In order to submit their contribution, speakers must submit an abstract of at least two pages by the above-mentioned deadline.

The following topics are particularly relevant for the award:

  • Technical innovations in systems to improve product quality and efficiency
  • Innovations in the area of sustainability / CO2 neutrality / resource conservation
  • Integration of artificial intelligence, e.g. in machine control systems, other system components, but also in processes, production sequences and production control for efficient and GMP-compliant pharmaceutical technology and production.

The Steering Committee of the GMP PharmaCongress & PharmaTechnica will select an award winner from the proposals submitted and its own research. The members are:

  • Dr Friedrich Haefele, formerly Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Dr Sabine Hauck, Leukocare
  • Dr Burkart Gödde, Roche Diagnostics
  • Johannes Krämer, CSL Behring
  • Gerald Mathe, PPT
  • Gert Moelgaard, former ISPE Chairman
  • Frank Studt, Gempex
  • Jörg Zimmermann, Vetter Pharma-Fertigung

As well as from Concept Heidelberg: Axel Schroeder, Dr Andreas Mangel, Dr Robert Eicher, Dr Andrea Kühn-Hebecker, Oliver Schmidt.

The laureates in the past:

Rudolf Völler, Pharmaziedirektor a.D.

Dr. Gero Beckmann, Institut Romeis Bad Kissingen GmbH

Dr. Michael Rieth, Merck KGaA

Dr. Klaus Haberer

Dr. Thomas Trantow

Dr. Michael Jahnke, Haupt Pharma Wülfing

Alexandra Stärk, Novartis Pharma Stein AG and Volker Sigwarth, Skan AG

Dr. jur. Martin Wesch

Dr. Johannes Krämer

Dr. Norman Franklin, Bayer AG

Dr. Michael Pfeiffer, Boehringer Ingelheim

Klaus Feuerhelm, Regierungspräsidium Tübingen

Further information